Catching The Torch

Trials by Fire in Hostessing, Motherhood, Life

Mama’s Sanctuary

1 Comment

Mama's Sanctuary

I’ve thought long and hard about throwing my hat in the ring of Mommy Bloggers.  I’ve agonized over my tone: Will I sound “know-it-all,” because I surely don’t.  Will my babies read my words someday and feel sad that I complained?  Since Blondela was tiny, I wanted to write about Motherhood, but struggled with the point.  My point.  What do I want to say?  How can I, a girl who feels like she’s often making it up, contribute positively to this conversation?  If I am searching for the elusive answers to Motherhood, how can I possibly have anything to say about it?

After talking to my very inspirational friend Alysa over at http://www.kitchenfellowship.com, I figured it out:  We Mamas need a space.  A safe space to talk honestly about Motherhood.  A kind space where we attempt to help each other rather than deride and brag.  A space for encouragement, especially by veteran Mamas to us newbies.  A space for humor, for tears, for real.

I humbly hope to provide such a space on my blog.  A corner of the big wide internet that is kind and hopeful for Mamas.

If you are interested in the another place for honesty and kindness that fosters cooking and fellowship, please visit Alysa and her beautiful blog www.kitchenfellowship.com

Are you a mom?  Do you have something you’d like to ask or discuss?  Do you have words of wisdom?  Please share!!

The next step is giving yourself that space.  Let’s find how how together over at Creating a Sanctuary

Author: katycov

Katy teaches private voice lessons through Covington Music Studio and authored the inaugural blog for the Atlanta Master Chorale from 2016-2017. Additionally, Katy floats the high notes in the soprano section of the University Musical Society Choral Union. She has been a choral and general music teacher for Farmington Public Schools in Farmington Hills, MI, served as Director of Children's Music at the First United Methodist Church in Ypsilanti, MI, performed at Magnolia in the Baldwin Theater production of "Show Boat" and is a proud recipient of a Bachelors of Music in Voice Performance and Music Education from the University of Michigan. When she's not singing, she's caring for her two young kiddos, hard-working husband, and crazy dog (let's be honest - she's usually singing then too...) She's been singing since before she could talk, and is thrilled to continue to her music career in the Detroit area.

One thought on “Mama’s Sanctuary

  1. Pingback: What Makes You? | Catching The Torch

Leave a comment